The One about Books

Today I thought I’d do a fun list; what books I would take with me if I was going to be stranded on a desert island. Of course this question is kind of a moot point since I got a Kindle because I would just download all the books I already own, but let’s pretend that isn’t a factor. This list is numbered but the numbers have nothing to do with favored status. Just assume they are all number 1 because otherwise why would I be taking them?

1. Emma by Jane Austen: I love Jane Austen and it pains me to only include one of her books on the list, but if I had to choose just one to bring it would be Emma. I love the story of Emma. A spoiled slightly narcissistic naive girl tries her best to fix the mistakes she finds in others all while being totally blind to her own. Not gonna lie there is something familiar about this heroine. I see a little bit of myself in her. (ok ok fine A LOT of myself in her) Emma screws things up but she always has the best of intentions at heart; her love for her friends and family. Plus the declaration of love between Emma and Mr. Knightley might be one of the best I’ve ever read. “If I loved you less I might be able to talk about it more.” SWOON. If you’ve never read it give it a shot. Austen’s writing can be hard to get used to so I’d recommend an audiobook version if you are totally new to her work. It’s always easier to understand something that is being read to you. Also watch the movies Clueless- it’s one of the best adaptations of that book I’ve ever seen.

2. Anne of the Island by Lucy Maud Montgomery: Oh man, oh man was it hard to only pick one book in the Anne series to take. (I’m trying to not to pick very many books by the same author and I’m not allowing myself to choose a whole series of something) I love everything that Lucy Maud Montgomery has written. In fact, the entire second shelf of my bookshelf is ONLY books written by her or about her. See!

But Anne of the Island is the one I would want with me on a desert Island. It’s so wonderful. When I was younger I dreamed of having a college experience like Anne and her friends. I wanted to live in a house like Patty’s Place which seemed so warm and cozy with 3 of my closest friends. Also this is the book where Anne and Gilbert finally get together and it is glorious! “I don’t want diamond sunbursts or marble halls! I just want you!” DOUBLE SWOON! I almost picked Anne of Avonlea because I love Miss Lavender’s story, but in the end Anne and Gilbert having their happy moment won out.

3. The Blue Castle by Lucy Maud Montgomery: I KNOW I KNOW but seriously go back and look at the picture. The whole shelf is Lucy Maud Montgomery books there is no WAY I could just pick one. Ok so if you’ve never read any books by Montgomery GO OUT AND READ THIS ONE RIGHT NOW! Seriously, this is the book that will prove to you that she does not just write “children’s books” (which I would contest the Anne series is not but whatever) Anyway the heroine in this book is in her late 20’s and it’s honestly one of the most mature books Montgomery ever wrote. It’s about a girl named Valancy Stirling who is very shy and timid and lets herself by ruled by her overbearing family. They control everything about her even down to the style of her hair. One day Valancy finds out from her doctor that she has a heart defect that could cause her to drop dead at any moment. This thought instead of scaring Valancy, frees her. She leaves her family to go and live with an old drunk wild man who lives up in the mountains who needs someone to take care of his invalid daughter. It’s such a wonderful book about making the best of the life that you have. It also boasts one of the most romantic stories I’ve ever read. Don’t let the hero’s name deter you (Barney Snaith I KNOW!) he is wonderful. The way Montgomery writes the relationship is so beautiful and mature that it makes me ache. I love this book so much I would trade Anne of the Island for it if you told me I couldn’t take 2 books by the same author. (But please don’t make me do that).

4.Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling: Ok deciding between this one and Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows was really difficult but in the end I choose this one based on the same character…Remus Lupin. Remus Lupin is my favorite non Trio character in the Harry Potter series. I love him. So if you’ve read the whole series you know why I chose this one over the 7th. Prisoner of Azakaban also had really great back story into Harry’s father’s life. But really the reason why I chose this book begins and ends with Remus Lupin. He is introduced in this book and I fell in love with him. (BTW the worst part of the movies in my opinion was how little Lupin was in them PLUS the man who played him was so far away from how I pictured him that the few times he was on screen I was taken right out of the movie.

5. Bossypants by Tina Fey: I only wanted to choose one funny memoir so it was really hard to choose between this and Mindy Kaling’s book. But in the end I chose this book because I laughed out loud reading almost every page. If I was stuck on a desert island I would want to be able to laugh and I know Tina Fey would do that for me. My favorite chapter is the one called “A Mother’s Prayer for her Daughter.” So funny. the whole book is worth buying for that chapter alone.

 6. The Masque of the Black Tulip by Lauren Willig: I had to include one “chick lit” book on the list. This is the second in a series by Lauren Willing called the Pink Carnation Series and it is my favorite (so far). It follows the fictional spy the Pink Carnation (think like the Scarlet Pimpernel) in England and France during the Napoleonic Wars and her society of fellow spies. The witty banter and love story between Henrietta and Miles is why this book is so delightful. Their dialogue practically sparkles off the page. Sure it’s a slightly cheesy historical romance novel, but you know what? I’m stuck on a island by myself. I need some cheese to survive! It can’t be all high brow all the time.

So there you have it. The books I would take with me on a desert Island. Six is a random number but I tried to keep the number low because obviously the point of the game is to only pick a few. Also this does not include non fiction. Maybe I’ll do another list another day of just the non fiction books I would take with me. I would highly recommend any of the above books for you to read. If you do pick one of these up based on my suggestions, leave me a comment and let me know. Or better yet leave me your own desert island list in the comments section. What books would you take! Now stop reading this and go read a book!

Janelle

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

