the one with the book survey

1) What author do you own the most books by?
I think that would kind of be a 4 way tie.  Lucy Maud Montgomery, JK Rowling, Jane Austen, and Meg Cabot

2) What book do you own the most copies of?
I have a few copies of Pride and Prejudice as well as a couple of copies of Anne of Green Gables

3) Did it bother you that both those questions ended with prepositions?
sure, but it’s a survey so they don’t tend to always be grammatically correct

4) What fictional character are you secretly in love with?
I have a soft spot for Mr. Knightly in Emma and Mr. Tilney in Northanger Abbey

5) What book have you read the most times in your life (excluding picture books read to children; i.e., Goodnight Moon does not count)?
The Anne of Green Gables series. Also Emma, and the Harry Potter series

6) What was your favorite book when you were ten years old?
hmmm ten years old. I think that would have to be Starring Sally J. Freedman as Herself by Judy Blume. I adored that book and read it all the time.  I have a very fond memory of my sister reading that book out lout on a family vacation in Vermont.

7) What is the worst book you’ve read in the past year?
I can’t think of one because I follow the 50 pages rule. If 50 pages in, the book is boring me I will put it down.

8) What is the best book you’ve read in the past year?
tough one! I adored The Time Traveler’s wife. When i finished it I wanted to read it again right then

9) If you could force everyone who reads this to read one book, what would it be?
The Blue Castle by Lucy Maud Montgomery
10) Who deserves to win the next Nobel Prize for Literature?
umm no clue… I don’t follow that stuff

11) What book would you most like to see made into a movie?
I tend to not like books that are made into movies because I see them so clearly in my head that a movie could never measure up. But hearkening back to another question, seeing Sally J Freedman on screen would be cool as long as none of the “Disney” girls were in it (ie Miley Cyrus etc)

12) What book would you least like to see made into a movie?
see above answer…most books

13) Describe your weirdest dream involving a writer, book, or literary character.
before the seventh Harry Potter book came out I had a dream that JK Rowling decided to end with the 6th book and we were all left with a massive cliff hanger…scary!

14) What is the most lowbrow book you’ve read as an adult?
I always feel slightly lowbrow when I’m reading a trashy “chick lit” book on the beach. but i wouldn’t call those books lowbrow…just different. You should read what you like. Whether that is classic literature or Jackie Collins, read what you want!

15) What is the most difficult book you’ve ever read?
Great Expectations. I made myself read it because it’s Dickens and he’s pretty important. But good lord I hated reading that book! Cut down your sentence length dude!!

16) What is the most obscure Shakespeare play you’ve seen?
unfortunately I’ve only ever seen the main ones…Romeo and Juliet etc.

17) Do you prefer the French or the Russians?
the Russians although really i prefer the British (I’m assuming we are talking about authors)

18) Roth or Updike?
can I say neither? because I say neither =)
19) David Sedaris or Dave Eggers?
Sedaris

20) Shakespeare, Milton, or Chaucer?
Shakespeare because Beatrice and Benedick from Much Ado About Nothing are the forefathers of all romantic comedy heroes and heroines.

21) Austen or Eliot?
Austen definitely

22) What is the biggest or most embarrassing gap in your reading?
I hate most American Lit…I’ve never finished anything by Mark Twain and Nathanial Hawthorne makes me want to gouge my eyes out!

23) What is your favorite novel?
Emma, by Jane Austen

24) Play?
“Much Ado About Nothing” Billy Shakespeare =)

25) Poem?
anything by Emily Dickinson or e e cummings

26) Essay?
Can I say Tina Fey’s book? That is a collection of short essays!

27) Short story?
anything by Edgar Allen Poe especially “The Tell Tale Heart”

28) Work of nonfiction?
The Six Wives of Henry VIII (what a rich book!) Each wife gets the full blown historical treatment. Anne Bolyen is particularly fascinating.

29) Who is your favorite writer?
wow…classic would be Jane Austen and Elizabeth Gaskell. More modern? JK Rowling, Lauren Willig, and Lucy Maud Montgomery

30) Who is the most overrated writer alive today?
I think the women who wrote Twilight. GO AHEAD EVERYONE HATE ME FOR LIFE!!! I’m sorry my ovaries don’t explode at the very thought of Edward Cullen!

31) What is your desert island book?
Go back and read my blog post from Friday. I cannot pick just one; I had to pick 6.

32) And what are you reading right now?
I’m reading a few books at once right now. I’m reading The Garden Intrigue by Lauren Willig which is the latest installment in her Pink Carnation series, Live From New York an oral history of Saturday Night Live (Which is fascinating btw),  an anthology of short stories by Lucy Maud Montgomery, and an anthology of short stories by Georgette Heyer on my Kindle.

Happy Sunday night everyone! Enjoy the Oscars!

Janelle

3 thoughts on “the one with the book survey

Leave a Reply

