The one where it’s hard to be a woman

March is Women’s History Month and a few weeks ago was International Women’s Day. Watching the debate surrounding many women’s issues in my own country, I am reminded of how hard it is be a woman all over the world. I wanted to give a few links to some articles about some of the issues women are facing around the world right now. I encourage you to please read these articles (I’m only linking to 3. It won’t take that long.)

Uganda has been in the news lately thanks to Invisible Children and the Kony video. I have no desire to talk about the issues that came up in regards to this organization except to say that while Kony is no longer in Uganda, these people certainly are. Click here to read about how Ugandan girls are being sold into the sex trafficking industry in huge numbers.

In Morocco a 16 year old girl committed suicide after being forced to marry her rapist.

And finally in this country, renewing the Violence Against Women Act is no longer a bipartisan issue.

Each one of these articles breaks my heart. I don’t want to live in a world where ANY of these things happen. I hate that women who want to earn money for their families are instead sold into the worst kind of torture I can imagine; a place where my body is not my own. I hate that a woman who would just barely be able to drive in the United States can be forced by her own government to marry a man that has violated her. I hate that according to some lawmakers, protecting undocumented immigrant women and LGBT women means they cannot vote to renew the Violence Against Women act. Are LGBT women less deserving of protection than me? Are undocumented women?

I also believe that each one of these articles breaks God’s heart. He created women in His image, and look at how they are being treated. It has to stop. I have to help stop it. Here are some practical ways you and I can stop it.

1. Pray PRAY PRAY: add women to your prayer list. Start small and go outward. Pray for the women in your immediate family, in your church, in your community. Then pray for the women in your state, and your country. Pray for women in other countries.

2. Become a supporter of the A21 Campaign: this is a non profit organization that works to fight human trafficking. I know there are many other charities that do this as well, but this is one I personally support so I feel comfortable recommending it. I went to a women’s conference where I heard Christine Caine (one of the founders) speak and it was POWERFUL

3. Write a letter or call your representative asking them to support renewing the Violence Against Women Act: It’s very easy to find out how to contact your representative. Just google it =)

4. Get smart: stay informed about what’s going on in women’s news around the world. Sin thrives in secrecy. Shine a light on it so it’s easier to find and get rid of.

Let’s make the world better for women. We can do it!

Janelle

4 thoughts on “The one where it’s hard to be a woman

    • faceparts says:

      I agree, there is no debate here. Women should always feel like they can come forward when violence is done to them without having to worry about repercussions.

  1. Kayla MacDonald says:

    great post, Janelle – it’s heart-breaking how women are marginalized and abused all over the world. I recently watched The Whistle Blower which is based on true events about human trafficking in Eastern Europe. You’re right, we must take action to stop these horrific events that are taking place all the time.

    • faceparts says:

      I haven’t watched that yet! I’ll have to add it to my must watch list. Thanks for commenting! Olivia is beautiful by the way. I can’t believe you have a 6 month old!

Leave a Reply

