The one where I talk about insomnia

Falling asleep for me never follows a set pattern. Sometimes I need music or my TV on, other times I need it totally silent. Sometimes I need it completely dark, other times I have no problem falling asleep with the lights on. I’ve never had a problem staying asleep, until now. The past week or so I’m falling asleep at totally normal hours, and waking up at totally random hours; like 3:30 am, 4:14 am, and 5:00 am. My mom says that when you wake up in the middle of the night you should pray because God woke you to pray for something or someone. I’ve been doing that and while it’s been great for my prayer life it’s been not so good for my awake life. =) What do some of you do when you wake up in the middle of the night and can’t go back to sleep?

PS: before you ask mom YES I’ve been going to bed without my television on so don’t suggest that first =)

 

8 thoughts on “The one where I talk about insomnia

  1. AJ says:

    I read magazines. You should try a sleep mask! Melatonin is produced in your body when your environment is very dark. You can take melatonin pills too.

    …or maybe God just wants you up to pray, in which case you better just pray and hang in there lol.

  2. Susan Saaybe Branin says:

    Since you are a writer maybe what I do will help. I usually get my pen and just start journaling. It’s amazing the things that I finally put to bed , the worries, the anixous thoughts, the things I need to forgive, and forget about Usually after a few minute maybe sometime longer the Lord calms my fears and settles my mind. I also find that at those times I usually am inspired to pray and sometime write an encouraging note to someone. Of course I proof read the notes in the morning. Maybe the hot milk works but not for me my milk has to be ice cold Happy dream hopefully

    • faceparts says:

      good idea! I’ll have to start keeping my journal by my bed. and if you all start getting letters from me soon, you’ll know why! =)

  3. Maria Cousins says:

    I use lie on the floor and start praying and before I knew it, I fell asleep. Sometimes I read the Bible and fall asleep.

  4. Chuck says:

    I’ve suffered from insomnia for about 10 years. I do a number of things when my brain decides to wake up. I watch TV, read, work, or even go for a walk and star gaze. Most of the time, however, I make hot chocolate and a slice of toast with peanut butter. Sometimes this works for me and I’m fast asleep soon thereafter. The worst is when I dream that I’m awake. Usually it is associated with the stress in my life.

Leave a Reply

