The one about talents and pennies

Max Lucado doesn’t have a section in his book And The Angels Were Silent about what Jesus did the Wednesday before he was crucified. So I decided to pick a part of the last week of Jesus’ life myself that really stuck out to me. It happens while Jesus is in the temple preaching some of his last messages. The Scripture passage I’m writing about is found in Luke 21:1-4, and it’s about the widow who gave 2 talents in the offering box.

The word talent in this instance is not referring to a skill, but rather a measurement of money. In my translation (The New Living) of the Bible the words used to describe the widow’s offering is “two pennies” Jesus has watched the rich come in and put in some money in the offering box, but when he sees this widow give her 2 pennies he says to his disciples, “I assure you, this poor widow has given more than all the rest of them. For they have given a tiny part of their surplus,but she, poor as she is, has given everything she has.”

This passage of Scripture is so encouraging especially when put in the context of where Jesus is at this moment in time. He is about to die for the sins of the whole world. That’s giving quite a lot of himself isn’t it? One of my favorite things about Jesus is that he never asks us to do that which he would not do himself. We are to give him everything we have because he has already given us everything he has.

This is not an indictment on the rich, but rather on the heart condition of those concerned. The rich were coming in placing their offerings in the box looking over their shoulders at the same time. “Look at how much I’ve given!” This widow came in and gave more than she could probably afford and didn’t expect anyone to notice her. After all in the ancient world widowed women were not always paid attention to. Instead she draws the attention of the King of Kings. Her! With her 2 pennies. Because she gave them with a cheerful heart.

What are my two pennies? I’ve found lately that my time can fall into that category. I have almost every moment of this week planned out, and sometimes that stretches over to other weeks of my life. When I’m done checking things off my list sometimes I don’t want to spend time in daily devotions; I’d rather watch TV or go on the internet. Sometimes God can become part of my check list. I want to be more like this woman and give ALL My talents and pennies to God with a cheerful heart not worried about what I have to do next. Just basking in the presence of God. That is another one of my prayers this Easter.

Leave a Reply

