The one about a tuneful Tuesday

I’m doing a lot of work lately on my computer. I’m also running lots of errands which means I’m spending a lot of time in my car. I like to listen to podcasts for sure, but when I have to concentrate on something or I’m constantly getting in and out of the car I’d rather listen to music. I thought I’d write about the songs and artists that I’m really into right now. If you are looking for new music this is the entry to read! So without further ado: the music I am currently obsessed with. OH WAIT. Please listen to all of these if you don’t know them. I’m purposefully only putting a small number of songs so you won’t get overwhelmed. But trust me when I say you need to listen to all of these. SERIOUSLY

Regina Spektor: Blue Lips

The album this song comes from. Far, is completely wonderful from start to finish. I’ve had this album on my ipod for awhile, but lately I’ve really been obsessed with Blue Lips. Regina Spektor is a wonderful piano player and her songs are full of such whimsy. My favorite part is the little bridge where a beautiful section of strings comes in to lift the song up to a different level. Seriously, buy anything by Regina Spektor and you will be happy.

The Civil Wars: Kingdom Come

This song was featured on The Hunger Games soundtrack. I LOVE The Civil Wars. I don’t think I’ve ever heard two people’s voices blend so well together as Joy Williams and J.P. White. They only have one album out but that album is amazing. In fact the next song I’m obsessed with comes from that album.

C’est la Mort: The Civil Wars

C’est la vie means this is life, so if you haven’t figured it out yet c’est la mort means this is death. Doesn’t sound too happy right? But it’s a sweet melancholy love song and I love it so much I would marry this song if songs were sentient beings. Seriously to save myself some time in this entry just assume that the entire The Civil Wars album Barton Hollow is on this list. Go buy it off of iTunes right now. Seriously. Do it. Right now.

Florence and the Machine: Cosmic Love

Oh Florence Welch. You are crazy. Like Imogen Heap crazy, and I love you for it. This song sounds like it was recorded in outer space. The drums beats are SICK. They are my favorite part of this song. That and Florence’s ethereal voice. Seriously, she blows my mind. If you only know Florence and the Machine from the song “Dog Days” you are sorely missing out. The rest of her album Lungs gets better and better after that song.

Delta Spirit: Devil Knows You’re Dead

The lyrics to this song are from I believe an Old Irish poem/prayer. But all this song makes me think about is Friday Night Lights. I won’t spoil when the songs plays for those of you that haven’t seen the show (but seriously why haven’t you seen that show yet? It’s the best show ever and all 5 seasons are Netflix Instant) If you have seen the show you know why I cry every time I hear this song. EVERY. TIME.

Sandra McCracken: Thy Mercy My God

Sandra McCracken is an artist similar to Sara Groves in that she writes songs that have both beautiful melodies, and beautiful thought provoking lyrics. Sandra is really into writing “hymns for a new generation” and I think she does it so well. This song sounds like it could have been written decades and decades ago, and yet it is still so accessible to the church today. I put this song on and feel immediately transformed to a spirit of worship. She appears on this list twice as well with,

Sandra McCracken: In Feast or Fallow

I’ve written a lot about how I’m in a period of transition. I know a lot of the people in my life are in the same place and are feeling kind of lost. We feel unsure about our next step and sometimes it seems like God is so far away. This song has been my comfort and strength when I feel like that. Seriously, it has over 200 plays on my iTunes. Listen to this song and be encouraged.

So there you have it. The songs I am currently obsessed with. Let me know what you think. And here is aQuestion For You!What songs or artists are you currently obsessed with? Leave a link in the comments!

Leave a Reply

