The one about what I’m currently reading

Yesterday I wrote about the music I am currently obsessed with. So today I figured I’d talk about the books I’m currently reading. I love to read. I can’t go to the library without checking out at least one book. I tend to read multiple books at the same time. The reason for this is that I like to balance a “difficult” or non fiction book with an easier fiction book and vice versa. Also since I got my kindle it makes it 10 times easier to read multiple books at the same time. Ok so if you were to pick up my kindle, or look at the shelf beside my bed here are the books you would see.

Harry Potter from Page to Screen: this is a HUGE coffee table style book that my lovely sister and brother in law gave me for my birthday. It follows the adaptation of the Harry Potter books to the movies. It’s awesome. It’s probably going to take me 3 years to read it because there is no way I can ever take this book out with me. I can only read it when I’m home because the book weighs at least 10 pounds and is huge. But it is beautiful. If you are a Harry Potter fan it is definitely worth it to buy this book.

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins: I saw the movie over Easter weekend and loved it so much I was driven to re-read the series. It’s been over a year since I read the book so I’m enjoying rediscovering just how awesome the book is.

Live from New York by Tom Shales and James Andrew Miller: This is an oral history of Saturday Night Live. It’s really fascinating but long so it’s taking me awhile to finish it. It only goes up to 2004, so I hope the authors update it soon.

These Old Shades by Georgette Heyer: Georgette Heyer was a very prolific regency romance writer in the 1960’s. If you love Jane Austen and bemoan the fact that there are only 6 novels of hers to read I would suggest Heyer. She is not a bodice ripping romance novelist. She is much closer to Jane Austen not just in the time period in which her novels are set, but in the tone and language. She wrote a TON of books so I’m slowly working my way through all of her books. If I was going to suggest a book of hers to start with I would say Black Sheep.

Collected Short Stories by Lucy Maud Montgomery: Montgomery wrote hundreds of short stories in her long career. I found a kindle book that put them all together by the year she wrote them. There are so many that it has seriously taken me over 3 months to read half of them. I love them all though. It’s the perfect thing to read when I’m waiting in a long line or only have a short time to read. It’s also cool to see where she took some of her short stories and expanded them to create certain novels.

So there you have it. What I’m reading right now. What are you reading now? I’m always looking for suggestions!

2 thoughts on “The one about what I’m currently reading

Leave a Reply

