The one about loving like Jesus

What I’m going to write about may be considered controversial by some people. That’s why I’m writing about it now when my readership is fairly low. =) Hopefully that will minimize the number of argumentative comments. In a few days there will be a vote in North Carolina that amends the state constitution to define marriage as between one man and one woman. It does not just prevent any type of gay marriage, it also prevents any type of domestic partnership or civil union from taking place. I was moved to do some research into this law when I discovered something interesting. Gay marriage is already prohibited in North Carolina.

Yes there is already a law on the books that does not allow gay people to get married. So why pass an amendment to the state constitution? If you ask those who have proposed the law they say to protect the sanctity of marriage. I’m not writing this blog to talk about gay marriage in theory because frankly, I am struggling to decide what my final thoughts on the matter are. I will say that as of right now I do feel a difference between what I believe as a Christian, and what I believe as a citizen of the United States; that no one group of people should be marginalized over another. But as I said, this post is not about whether I think gay marriage should be legalized or not.

Instead this is about how North Carolina seems to be passing a redundant law simple to really ground home to the gay citizens of their state that they do not want them to be able to get married. One of my favorite characters on my favorite show The West Wing, Ainsley Hayes stated her conservative viewpoint on small government as “passing just enough laws to keep the lights on and the water running.” How can people who claim to love small government get behind passing a law that essentially already exists? What do they gain by amending the state constitution over a legislative law?

It seems to me that all they gain is a playground childlike sense of “nanny nanny boo boo” to gay people. It’s like a parent telling their child “you’re grounded. oh and by the way we are eating ice cream and watching your favorite movie downstairs TOO BAD YOU ARE GROUNDED AND CAN’T PARTICIPATE!”  An editorial I read on the Huffington Post said this ” Gay marriage is already illegal here. No, a vote for this amendment is merely a public shaming of people like us. It’s a vote for heterosexual superiority. It’s a pep rally for the privileged against the already oppressed.”  You can read the whole article here. Keep in mind I’m not signing off on everything this woman says, but this sentence really spoke to me.

I felt so sick when I read that sentence. As with most “pro heterosexual marriage” movements there is inevitably strong Christian support thrown behind the measure. I am not writing this to dissuade a Christian who opposes gay marriage to change his mind. I’m writing this to remind my fellow believers that we are called to love others with Christ’s love. Does Christ’s love shame others? Even when Jesus confronted people in sin did he ever gloat? Did he ever really ram it home that he was all powerful and they were not? No he loved them. Period. End of sentence.

A law banning gay marriage already exists in North Carolina. To pass a constitutional amendment banning it in my opinion is not just redundant in a legislative sense, but mean spirited and not the attitude that Christ would want us to have toward our fellow human beings. So before we throw our support behind something remember, there are real people on the other side of this issue that Christ called us to LOVE, not condemn, LOVE.

To the LGBT community in North Carolina I apologize on behalf of some of my fellow Christians who have taken the words of my Savior and used them to cut you down, and make you feel like less of a person. My prayer is that the love of Christ will overflow this situation and we can come out of this with a better understanding and appreciation of each other.

That’s it. If you disagree with me that’s fine, but let’s try to keep the comments calm, rational, and free of anger.

4 thoughts on “The one about loving like Jesus

  1. Allison says:

    What a great and well-written post on Amendment One. As a North Carolina resident for the past seven years, I am sick that the state’s legislature found it necessary to amend the constitution when like you said, there is already a law banning same-sex marriage in the state. What is worse about the amendment is that it is worded so broadly that it will eliminate ALL domestic partnerships and civil unions, whether the couple be gay or straight, as well as limit the rights of unmarried couples (again, gay or straight) in terms of hospital visitation rights, ability of their children to receive health care, and even take away government benefits from elderly cohabiting couples.

    Regardless of a person views on same-sex marriage, this amendment should be voted down because of the overwhelming negative implications it will have to ALL unmarried couples in North Carolina (myself and Andrew included!) There seems to be overwhelming support AGAINST the amendment via facebook and other social media, trying to get the younger populations who will be most affected by this amendment to get out and vote on May 8th. I just hope the opinions and actions of the few conservative legislatures will not negatively affect the rest of us! Thanks for bringing light to such a serious issue in North Carolina right now!

    • faceparts says:

      Thanks so much for the reply Allison! I was wondering what you thought of all of this living down there and being a law student (although now you are done with that! hooray!)

      I really hope it doesn’t pass. I’ll be watching the news the day of closely!

  2. gkmacdon says:

    Well-written and thought-provoking. This is such a sensitive issue in Christian circles and in my experience many Christians take such a legalistic view, refusing to even engage in a discussion. So I appreciate that you wrote this. I especially like what you said about this redundant amendment being contradictory to small government. Personally, I find it so hypocritical that conservative Republicans will rail against big government telling them what to do with, for example, guns and health care and then cheerfully demand new laws that marginalize LGBTs. Why, to many conservatives, is it perfectly acceptable for the government to say gays can’t marry but it’s not acceptable for the government to impose stricter gun laws? I’m pretty sure illegally obtained guns kill a lot more people than homosexuals, anyway. 😉 Rant over.

    • faceparts says:

      very good points! And thank you for your kind words. Sometime I feel that my mission is to let people who aren’t a part of Christian culture know that not all of us hold to such hard line conservative viewpoints.

Leave a Reply

