The One about the bend in the road

I’ve talked about my love of all things Lucy Maud Montgomery before. Her most famous creation is Anne Shirley from the books series Anne of Green Gables. In the first book Anne has dreams of going on to college after finishing high school. Those dreams are dashed when one of her caretakers passes away and the other one finds out she is in danger of going blind. If that happens Green Gables, the only home Anne has ever had, will have to be sold. So Anne gives up her dreams of college to stay home and teach locally so that she can save her childhood home.  Anne often described her plans as being before her like straight path going as far as she could see off into the horizon. Once her plans change she begins to see that path as having a “bend in the road” around which she has no idea what is coming. Instead of this scaring her, it exhilarates her. This beautiful passage from the end of Anne of Green Gables has been on my mind a lot lately.

“Anne’s horizons had closed in since the night she had sat there after coming home from Queen’s; but if the path set before her feet was to be narrow she knew that flowers of quiet happiness would bloom along it. The joy of sincere work and worthy aspiration and congenial friendship were to be hers; nothing could rob her of her birthright of fancy or her ideal world of dreams. And there was always the bend in the road!”

Her plans are being put on hold but she knows it is not an indefinite hold. How true is that sentence in my own life? Nothing can rob me of my birthright. If I believe God has a plan and a dream he wants to accomplish in my life than NOTHING can stop that dream from happening. As long as I keep walking down the road no matter how  narrow it seems to be getting. And trust me, lately the road I’m traveling on has seemed narrower than ever. All I seem to be facing are bends in the road. I never know what the next day is going to bring. I’m trying to look at those bends the way Anne did; with anticipation and joy.

So even though the path I’m on isn’t the one I thought I’d be on at this point in my life, and even though every square inch of that path seems to be bends in the road, I’ll try to be more like Anne. Because I’ll hold on to the sentence that comes right after the above passage. The line that ends the book: God’s in his heaven, all’s right with the world.”

Bring it on.

Leave a Reply

