The one about fall

After some abnormally hot weather this past week (to be politically incorrect one could call it an Indian Summer), the weather in NJ/PA is finally more fall like. I have a deep love for all 4 season for different reasons. One of my favorite parts of living where I live is that I get to experience 4 distinct seasons. It’s hard for me to pick a favorite, but inevitably whichever season I’m in becomes my favorite. So since it’s fall I thought I’d a make a little list of all the things I love about fall.

1) The weather: seriously is there anything more lovely than fall weather? I’m not a fan of extremes so as much as I love summer, I hate the sweating that comes with it. The same goes for winter and its extreme cold. But fall weather is the perfect in between. I can wear sweaters, but not have to put on a winter coat. I can sit out on the front porch swing and read without being eaten alive by mosquitoes. At night I can curl up with blankets, and still have my window open.

2) The food: I don’t like pumpkin pie (I know insert a gasp here), but I love pretty much anything else pumpkin. Especially pumpkin baked goods. I also love being able to eat soup without feeling like a weirdo. I eat soup all year, but the fall is when it starts to make the most sense weather wise. But the best food of the fall? Apple cider doughnuts. When I was in college, every fall my mom and dad would send me a box full of those delicious things. Subsequently, due to my sharing of the wealth with my friends there are now people scattered across the country who become extremely jealous every time I post about eating apple cider doughnuts on Facebook. If you’ve never had an apple cider doughnut before and you are in the New Jersey area you need to immediately go to Johnson’s Corner Farm in Medford and buy half a dozen NOW. I don’t have a very big sweet tooth so these are the perfect treat; a cakey doughnut covered with grains of sugar. Just writing about them is making me hungry. I think I’ll be making a trip to pick some up tomorrow morning.

3) The colors: The warm tones you find in fall are another reason I love this season. I am a very pale person. Seriously the tannest I get is when all of my many freckles join slightly together around July. Because of this, pastel colors are generally not a favorite of mine; they wash me out. I know talking about color and skin tones is a snooze so I’ll just say this. Oranges, browns, and russet reds work very well with a very pale complexion. They also look lovely in all the decorations that come out this time of year.

4)The skies: the sunsets during the fall are breathtakingly beautiful. I’m sure there is some scientific reason for why the sky looks the way it looks at this time of year, but all I know is that it looks wonderful. The wispy clouds combined with purple/pink/orange skies is full of “scope for the imagination” as Anne Shirley would say.

5) The sense of new beginnings: I know for most people the end of December and beginning of January are the time for new beginnings, but for me it’s always been the fall. This is probably because up until very recently the fall was always when I began school again, and even now both of my parents are still on a school schedule so living with them still gives me this sense even though I’m out of school. Fall is new pencils and notebooks. New teachers, and new books. New classes, and new activities. Even though none of those things are true for me anymore, my spirit seems to still experience newness in the fall. A new sense of direction, a new sense of purpose. A new set of goals, a new set of habits. When I want to start something new, fall seems like the best time to do it.

These are just a few reasons why I love the fall, and I’m sure I could write many many more. What is your favorite season, and what do you think that says about you? I’ll close with another quote from the lovely (and fictional) Anne Shirley.

 “I’m so glad I live in a world where there are Octobers. It would be terrible

if we just skipped from September to November, wouldn’t it?”

Yes it would Anne. Yes it certainly would.

6 thoughts on “The one about fall

  1. AJ says:

    “Seriously the tannest I get is when all of my many freckles join slightly together around July”…Iol.

    Obvi I love summer the most, but your points make me remember what I do enjoy about fall. I definitely still feel the sense of new, fresh things at this time of year. Great post!!!

  2. lindajeanluca says:

    As a person who always has felt that fall is the true “beginning” of new things, I really enjoyed this post! Your description of the sweeping skies and savory scents of this season make me glad to be a Jersey Girl…we are surrounded by beauty here. Thanks, Saaybe Says, for sharing the joys of Jersey with your readers who may not be able to experience the seasons as fully as we do!

  3. Nico says:

    Fall is my favorite. Sweater weather! With no threat of sweat!
    Also, I love soup. All year. You and I should discuss that. Our comfort soups. I grew up with soup.

Leave a Reply

