The one where I can’t think of a clever title

I’m really tired.

I’m tired of Christian Culture

I’m tired of The Church

I’m tired of Evangelicalism

I’m tired of being part of a group that lately seems to only come out against things and not for things

I’m tired of a movement that would punish children because of a ministry’s hiring choices.

I’m tired of a ministry not having the guts to back up their choices

I’m tired of there being no space for “I don’t know”

I’m tired of “culture wars”

I’m tired of the internet

I’m tired of Christians

I’m tired

So incredibly tired.

Please Father, lift me up in your arms. I feel like I can’t walk anymore. The weight of what the world expects of me is too much.

Remind me that you are outside of  Christian Culture

Remind me that you live outside nationalism

Remind me that you are outside of denominations

Remind me that you live in the tension of grace and truth

Remind me that you are everlasting love

Remind me of the people in my life who reject all the notions that make me tired

Remind me of those things while I cry a little in your presence tonight.

Because I’m just so tired

“Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest.” Matthew 11:28

2 thoughts on “The one where I can’t think of a clever title

Leave a Reply

